Receive news, updates and learn more about our upcoming giveaways!

Team owner Gary Syrell has been part of Supermodified Racing for over 40 years, starting as a crew member for the late Jimmy Shampine. Since that time, the Syrell family has become one of the great racing families in Oswego Speedway’s rich history.


Starting with Gary at the controls of their No. 08 Supermodified in 1990, the team hired its first driver outside of the family in 2002, enlisting three time Oswego Speedway track champion and Classic winner, Doug Didero. Didero gave the team their first victory in July of 2005. Since then, the team has won nine more main events, including countless top five finishes, with the help of drivers Dave McKnight and Michael Barnes.


With Gary, Brenda and Eric Syrell at the helm, the team realized a dream in 2016 by winning the Oswego Speedway Supermodified track championship with driver Michael Barnes. The team now eyes a return to championship form with an all-new IFS Hawk chassis for 2019 in a two car effort. Former Oswego Speedway Supermodified Rookie of the Year, Dan Kapuscinski, joins the team this year as a second driver beginning in the month of August, while Small Block Super feature winner Dalton Doyle will pilot a 350-Supermodified for Syrell Racing.


Syrell Racing

Michael Barnes

Known as “The Hustler,” Michael Barnes has become a fan favorite in Supermodified racing, not only due to his relentless pursuit of victory lane, but because of his natural connection with fans and followers. As a result, Barnes was voted as the Speedway’s Turning Stone “Favorite Driver” on four occasions.

Syrell Racing

Dan Kapuscinski

At 34 years of age, Danny Kapuscinski has made a life in motorsports. Starting in quarter midgets at age five, DannyK has since driven on the asphalt in Supermodifieds, Small Block Supermodifieds, Late Models and Legends Cars, while recently sparking a tenure on dirt in the DIRTcar Sportsman ranks.

Syrell Racing

Dalton Doyle

Six-time Oswego Speedway SBS winner, Dalton Doyle, has been tabbed as the driver of the Syrell Racing Graves chassis 350-Supermodified in 2019.



Hoosier Racing Tire Crew of the Year 2010

Gater Racing News Best Appearing Car & Crew 2010

2011 Jim Shampine Memorial Award Recipient (Gary Syrell)

Car Owners of the
Year 2016

Four-Time Turning Stone Favorite Driver Award (Michael Barnes)


  • Gary Syrell

    Team Owner

  • Brenda Syrell

    Team Owner

  • Eric Syrell

    Team Owner / Team Manager

  • Joey Hawksby

    Chassis Builder